Nevada law defines a “misdemeanor” as “every crime punishable by a fine of not more than $1,000 or by imprisonment in a county jail for not more than 6 months.” NRS 193.120(3). Some examples of common misdemeanor offenses include traffic offenses, DUI (first and second offenses), domestic violence (first and second offenses), simple battery, solicitation, trespass, petty theft and possession of 1 ounce or less of marijuana (first and second offenses).
The types of misdemeanor proceedings that you can seal include the issuance of citations, misdemeanor arrests, misdemeanor convictions, any and all police reports and/or investigation files associated with your event and any and all court records associated with the same.
Although all misdemeanor criminal records can be sealed Nevada, there are several conditions that must occur and/or be satisfied before you can petition the Court to seal your misdemeanor criminal record, including the following:
- Your Nevada misdemeanor case must be closed; and
- After the misdemeanor proceeding is closed, an additional statutorily prescribed time frame must pass before you can have your Nevada misdemeanor criminal record sealed.
- If you have any questions concerning sealing a Nevada misdemeanor criminal record, including questions pertaining to your eligibility, please contact The Hayes Law Firm and schedule a free consultation.